This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Join a Committee
Share |

Interested in getting more involved in NCHC by joining a committee?  

Committees serve as a practical way to structure and manage the work of the organization. NCHC has tweny-one standing committees, served by four hundred members. A complete list of committees and co-chairs is available below. We invite you to review the available options, attend a meeting at conference, and select where best to invest in the organization. Please note: NCHC members are limited to serving on a maximum of two committees.

The committee nomination and selection process is an annual exercise. 

  • Some committees hold meetings from May-June.
  • New committee co-chairs are selected in May by the Vice President.
  • Committee nominations open two weeks prior to conference. Members are invited to submit nominations for up to two committees per person.
  • Committee meetings are held at conference. Interested members are again invited to volunteer for service. 
  • Committee members are selected by the Vice-President for a three-year term beginning in December. 
  • Committee members are notified of selection in December. 
  • Committee service begins January 1. 

NCHC Committees

Advocacy Committee

  Kristine Miller, Utah State University

Art Spisak, University of Iowa

Assessment and Evaluation Committee

  James Ford, Rogers State University

  Patricia Smith, University of Central Arkansas

Awards and Grants Committee

  Kerry Wynn, Washburn University

Betsy Yarrison, University of Baltimore

Constitution and Bylaws Committee

  George Mariz, Western Washington University

Diversity & Inclusion Committee

  David Jones, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Alan Oda, Azusa Pacific University

Naomi Yavneh-Klos, Loyola University New Orleans

Finance Committee

Keith Garbutt, Oklahoma State University 

  John Emert, Ball State University

 Honors Advising Committee

  Jessica Sullins, Oklahoma State University

Lisa Schwebel, City University of New York, Brooklyn College

Place as Text Committee

  Alix Fink, Longwood University

Sara Quay, Endicott University

International Education Committee

  Kevin Dean, Westchester University of Pennsylvania

Kim Klein, Shippensburg University

Large Research Universities Committee

  Peter Sands, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Major Scholarship Committee

  Lucy Laufe, Montgomery College

  Tim Dolan, University of Mississippi

Outreach and Development Committee

  Kate Bruce, University of North Carolina Wilmington

Steven Engel, Georgia Southern University

Partners in the Parks

  Melissa Berninger, University of South Dakota

Rebekah Maxwell, Lamar University

Personnel Committee

  J. Robert Baker, Fairmont State University

Richard Badenhausen, Westminster College

Portz Fellowship Committee

  Don Rosenblum, Nova Southeastern University

Professional Development Committee

  Beata Jones, Texas Christian University

Publications Board

  Linda Frost, University of Tennessee Chattanooga

Jeffrey Portnoy, Georgia State University Perimeter College

Rusty Rushton, University of Alabama Birmingham

Research Committee

  Andrew Cognard-Black, St. Mary's College of Maryland

Jerry Herron, Georgia State University Perimeter College

Patricia Smith, University of Central Arkansas

Science and Mathematics Committee

  Russ Costa, Westminster College

John Korstad, Oral Roberts University

Small Colleges Committee

  Aron Reppmann, Trinity Christian College

Student Affairs Committee

  Richard Badenhausen, Westminster College

Olivia Fuson, Creighton University

Aline Webb, The University of New Mexico


Teaching and Learning Committee

  James Ford, Rogers State University

John Zubizarreta, Columbia College South Carolina

Two-Year College Committee

  Victoria Bryan, Cleveland State Community College

Eddie Weller, San Jacinto College District 


more Calendar

9/30/2020 » 11/7/2020
NCHC20 Virtual Events

Featured Members

Online Surveys
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal